The performing arts are strangely violent. For example, in theater, it’s customary to say “break a leg.” In comedy, we say “knock’m dead,” and having done so, we are said to have “killed.” And if you’re a religious fundamentalist making it rain at The Throbbing Anaconda, I believe it’s customary to at least say to yourself, “I pray God smites all these unrepentant sinners.”

But recently, I think a friend of mine may have taken this theme a bit too far. I’ll just repeat to you what was said to me and you can decide. Right before I went on stage, my friend said to me, “I hope you bludgeon the audience with your jokes and dance like Durga on the oceans of the dead.”

I don’t know. Is that a little weird?

(listen at https://soundcloud.com/yourfaultforlistening/gallagher)

Leave a Reply

