I think it’s safe to assume we’re all on social media. So, I have one suggestion. If we insist on calling them selfies, then I insist they be an accurate representation of the self, and to this end, I am pioneering the downward facing selfie with two tears creeping down my face, like a drive by of sorrow.

Every other day on my media feed, there’s some happy White person or persons desecrating a cultural heritage site or traveling to Africa to endanger majestic animals, and I realize that these people are a small minority, but if we expect Arabs and Muslims to apologize for every suicide bombing…

So, talk to me, White people. Why are you so bored?

You can safely travel anywhere in the world without fear of a hate crime. Even in places that seem like they should be inhospitable to you, like Africa, you can apparently arrange safe passage. As a Black American, even the word “passage” sounds like a threat, seeing how well the last one went. Plus, there’s the internet! Do you mean to tell me you’ve exhausted the entire internet? All I have is the internet, and not once in my life have I ever been bored enough to go to Africa.

If nothing else, let’s agree to stop posting photos of these people smiling next to their fresh devastation, because that seems to act more as a macabre travel brochure. Maybe instead, we should post pictures of people doing different crazy White people things… like base jumping. We can even add some pithy text like, “So bored you wanna kill something? Have you considered jumping off a cliff?”

(listen at https://soundcloud.com/yourfaultforlistening/xtinavk)

Leave a Reply

