I’ve never been good at speaking on the phone … or in person, for that matter. So, I always feel bad when my parents have me call my grandmother, because she’s my last living grandparent, she’s like 98 years old, and every conversation could be our last, and I always hope it is. Does that make me a bad person?

The thing is, you have no idea how many times I delete a text before pressing send. You have no idea, because no one does, and that’s the beauty of it, because it’s essential for me to research, filter, and distill my thoughts so as not to appall those I love, and when you’re on the phone, you can’t just say, “And that’s when your mom stopped fucking strangers. I mean, that’s why I have intimacy issues. No! Wait! Scratch that. What I meant to say was, ‘Yes. Rodger and I used to be friends.'”

(listen at https://soundcloud.com/yourfaultforlistening/flynn)

Leave a Reply

